Gift ideas for your favourite geek (2021 edition)

Raffy Halim
7 min readDec 5, 2021
Photo by Rana Sawalha on Unsplash

The last few years have been… different to say the least. During this time, I started to write a weekly email newsletter, The Sunday Surprise which featured some tech, news, books and other random tidbits that I’ve enjoyed each week. I realised looking back that some of the things that I recommended or used have become an integral part of my everyday experience. So as the holidays approach, I thought I’d compile a list of tech, services, tools, books etc that have most impacted me this year.

It’s partly for my own sake (call it a gratitude journal for things I’ve discovered) and partly a nice list of ideas for gifts or interesting ideas you might like. The weird and wonderful ones are near the end of the article. Some links are affiliate ones, many are not. So without further ado…

Tech/Gadgets

Hyperjuice 66W GaN charger

With phones and other devices not coming with chargers anymore, what could be a better gift than an AWESOME fast charger for your favourite geek? Trust me, ok? We love stuff like this.

There’s a 100W and a 66W version and I personally bought the 100W one ages ago, but if I had my chance again, I’d get the 66W(wasn’t available back then). It’s the right balance of being compact, yet powerful enough to power my phone AND my laptop AND my drone!

Best. Geek. Gift. Ever!

DJI Mini 2

I’ve been an avid drone photographer for a while now, having gone through something like 7 or 8 drones since the time of the Parrot AR 2 drone. As the technology has developed, there has been more and more features with increasing costs. The Mini 2 is all the essentials, with the extras stripped away in a very light weight body.

It’s literally 249g! For such a lightweight drone, it packs a punch and even with the Mavic 3 in the winds, this is still my most used drone to date because it’s just so damn convenient. Great for beginners too at an affordable price point. I liken this to more of a compact camera where as the bigger drones are more like an SLR.

Samsung S21 Ultra

I’ve historically switched back and forth from Android to iOS for the better part of the lifetime of both OS’ existence. After switching to the Samsung Note series, I just haven’t been able to go back. This is a far cry from back in the day where I despised Samsung’s design and software. From the S8 onwards, the features and functions have been truly convenient and more so that iOS for me.

For me, I REALLY utilise the S pen. Being able to pull it out of the case, tap a button and write a note on the screen has saved me more times than I can count. Instead of fumbling for a piece of paper or pen, it’s securely stored away and syncing with OneNote. With news that that S22 might have a built in stylus, I think I already know what one of my favourite gadgets next year will be…

Oura ring Gen 3

Initially, I only got the Oura ring because it was being used in some trials in the US for the early detection of asymptomatic Covid. At the time, I was working in various hospitals and didn’t have access to asymptomatic testing. This was meant to be a way to decrease the risk of spread.

I was telling someone about the features when I realised that the HRV data correlated so well with my overall restful state that it became a good marker for when to take a break. The other metrics are pretty spot on and now I use the app daily.

This new version has better sensors for capturing even more data. I decided to upgrade my gen 2 to the gen 3 because I started using it so much!

The link above should give you a discount and also 6 months free access to the subscription service.

Services/Courses

Pocket

I write a weekly newsletter and the best way I’ve found to capture ideas and articles quickly while not getting distracted is by using Pocket. The service allows you to quickly add any content with a simple click of a button or share via app.

Later on, you have a curated version of the things you want to read. Really useful if you happen to always find interesting things to read when you’re in the middle of doing something else! The service also suggests content based on what you’ve saved.

I use my Pocket list to keep the things I find super interesting and want to share on my newsletter. It’s an essential service for me, so maybe it can be gifted for your favourite geek?

1Password

Having tried half a dozen password managers over the years, 1Password is the service I keep coming back to. It’s the right combination of a well designed app, a secure service and convenient features that means that I’ll actually USE the service and create stronger, non-repeated passwords.

I went and tried some of the cheaper competitors but there was always something that I just missed about 1Password. Even if your favourite geek already has a password manager, steer them to 1Password and see how they love it.

100 day of code

This is a Udemy course that I started about 3 months ago and it’s simply brilliant! I had limited programming experience from my early school years but haven’t really touched it in decades.

This course takes you from an absolute beginner in Python and trains you with daily challenges to the point where you can make simple games, programs and scripts to do all sorts of things.

Along the way, the core concepts of programming are taught in a way that reinforced through out the course. It’s easy to understand and the lessons are just the right length to be challenging but not boring.

Can’t recommend this course enough!

Books

2034: The story of the next world war

Military fiction doesn’t rank particularly high on the list for me so imagine my surprise that this is one of the books I’ve recommended the most in 2021. It’s a story by 2 ex-US military men who sketch out a version of the future where unrestrained brinksmanship brings about a simmering conflict between 2 rival super powers.

What I found fascinating about the book is the realism about the slow escalations in stakes. Neither party wants the war but neither is willing to back down.

Well worth a read.

The Beginning of Infinity

This is not a new book but it simply blew my mind. It’ a bit slow to get started but well worth the effort to persevere. The book explores how knowledge is created and why at every moment, there will be even more to learn.

It sounds a bit vague as a concept, but the book really did broaden my understanding of how the evolution and growth of our society is really a story about the change in information and what it means.

It’s a dense book but one absolutely worth reading. Maybe even reading a few times over.

Guns, Germs & Steel

If the previous book focused on the abstract, this book deals with the concrete. From a historical viewpoint, Jared Diamond looks at the various factors that has shaped modern society into what it is. He asks some interesting questions like “why did the Spanish conquer South America instead o the other way around?” or “why did the Aboriginal people in Tasmania develop so differently to those in mainland Australia?”

The book explores early history, innovation and various other factors that make the world what it is today.

Random items

Fountain pen

This is a great generic gift! I bought a few since I find my normal pens get stolen at work where as people are hesitant to use/take a fountain pen. For a generic brand, these are quite good with sturdy nibs and a solid build.

Dyson v11

You know you’re getting old when you start listing vacuum cleaners as genuine gift ideas. I upgraded from the v7 and it was life changing. The v7 itself was an amazing vacuum but the day I got the v11, I had just done a vacuum and went over it again with the new v11 and sucked out even more dirt!

Especially if you know someone with pets, this is essential stuff!

Ecovac Deebot Robot Vacuum cleaner

You know you’re a special kind of old when you have 2 vacuum cleaners on a list but this was the other purchase I really wish I had before. I had version without LiDAR but it makes such a difference that I recommend getting one with it.

This model can vacuum and mop (I don’t use the mop function) and integrates with Google/Alexa. I’ll never tire of saying “Hey Google, clean the house!”

Floately: floating lightbulb/planter

These are awesome! Basically these devices have a base plate that generates a magnetic field and allows you to have a levitating lightbulb as a lamp or a floating plant. I have several around the house and never get tired of looking at them.

For what they are, the floately versions aren’t too expensive so they’re great as a special gift!

SBELive Coffee Warming Mug

While I personally use the Ember Mug, that’s only because a cheaper alternative didn’t exist back then. If you happen to need a gift for someone with a penchant for forgetting their cup of coffee and it repeatedly getting cold, this is the gift they need! Basically it’s a cup with a battery and warming circuit that keeps your hot beverage at the desired temperature for hours.

Well that’s quite a few gift ideas and things I’ve enjoyed this year. Hope it’s useful for you as we head into the festive season! If you like articles like this, you may also like my weekly newsletter, the Sunday Surprise.

--

--

Raffy Halim

Interested in healthcare, tech, photography and all things random...